Methodist High School was established in Kanpur, India in 1876 by Miss Isabella Thoburn, a Christian Missionary Educationist from the U.S.A., who felt the need for an education for girls and women in the city of Kanpur. Her school was called “The Girls High School” and was situated in the North West Tannery Bungalow in Civil Lines, on the banks of the river Ganges. The school was shifted to the present premises in 1889.

The school had a change in name in 1895. “The Girls High School” became “The Methodist High School”. Soon, the Middle and the Left Wings were constructed and by 1912, the Right Wing was ready for occupation.

Miss Thoburn died in 1901 but her good work was carried on by the dedicated missionaries to India who came from the Methodist Church in America. The school grew in numbers in staff and students and the buildings multiplied as the need arose. It has a large compound with four buildings: Elementary school (Nursery and KG), Primary School (I to V) and Senior School (VI to XII). The buildings are all brick and the Senior School has a distinct British Raj architecture with open verandahs and arches. Today, we have the Evelyn Strader Block, a mammoth project that was a Quasqicentennial gift to the school, under the Principalship of the dynamic lady, Mrs. Helen Brown.

Today, the school has a strength of 2500 students from Nursery to XII. We offer Science, Commerce and Arts streams at the ISC level and we have a record of excellent results in the same. We have also been doing equally well at all the Inter School Competitions and have won many of the coveted trophies in Kanpur city.

The school has grown in leaps and bounds. We are one of the foremost institutions in the city, both in academics and in extra curricular activities and are ever ready to be of service in the better interest of the nation.

List of Principals GHS –MHS 

1876Miss Isabella Thoburn

1878Miss Easton

1890Miss Harvey

1891Miss McBurne

1892Miss A. Lauck

1904Miss Lawson

1906Miss Pool

1910Miss Lawson (again)

1914Miss Whiting

1918Miss Shroeppel

1920Miss Whiting  (again)

1931Miss Bragg

1933Miss Hutchens

1939Miss Bragg (again)

1947Miss Irene Wells

1952Miss Strader

1980Dr. (Miss) F. Rolston

1981Miss K. Lee

1989Mrs. H. Brown

2006Mrs. Y. Cabral